You’ll Know When The Stars Won’t Sink !

 By Othello D. Gomes

Mother? Why are stars so beautiful ?
Tim, they just represent all of us.
They are what we are.
We are their children.
They’re beautiful because all they are just doing is being happy no matter what happens.
It’s the same reason why you’re beautiful.
Are you happy, mother?
Yes, Tim, I am, indeed, as long as you are happy, I am.

Childhood was so joyful,
Something very unforgettable,
It meant to be happy without ever thinking too much about the negative things,
Curiosity was radiant,
But they all said Grow Up,
Only Mother said “Be Yourself”,
But, I couldn’t cope with their pressure,
My Pressured Change Ruined Me,
Soon, everything in life seemed to be too extravagant,
So extravagant, that life seemed to lose its value.
I thought it couldn’t get worse than this.

They took Mother away ……………………………………………………………
Now, I had no soulful person in my life to guide me; she was all I had…………..
My anger made me lose,
All my morality,
Though, all it did was give me an awakening,
The Illumination ,
It had given me a lot of pain,
But, I knew the change would come,
All I had to do was be that very me,
The very me who was happy as the stars,

A new adventure had begun,
I was the product of what I had wanted now,
Preaching wasn’t my job,
It’s something beings on their own had to realize.
It’d been a long time since all this change had come to place.
Sure, Mother wasn’t here anymore,
But I remember what she said about the stars……….
We are children of the stars,
I know that she’s in peace,
Because,
I am ,
And because,
Stars are always radiant.

mass-effect-3-stargazer

Summary of the poem:

It’s about a person who goes through a drastic change in life. It starts with his childhood, with a very cosmic conversation between him and his mother. As the poem progresses , it emphasizes more towards how he grows; how growing up in a modern corrupt society affects him, but his mother is the only person that told him that he shouldn’t bother what society what wants him to do- unlike most mothers nowadays; and should focus on what makes him himself. Well, he tried his best to take it into his accord, but the pressure from society destroyed him pretty badly. At the 3rd stanza, he goes through the biggest pain in his life, as in the first line “They Took Mother Away….” meant that his mother died due to some sort of Cancer. At this point in life , he went through the biggest change; the biggest pain gave him the most drastic, and meaningful change that he could ever get. He later on went on a journey to learn about the truth that world was hiding from him, and of the corrupt, but he didn’t try to preach, because he knew that people themselves will never be able to fathom the cruel truth that bides them. The last few lines focus him after a long time, probably a decade. He realises how his mother’s death was rather something he took as a measures to become who he is now, and then at last he remembers that very conversation with his mom when he was a child. He knows that his mother is very happy, not because of religious beliefs , but because we’re all alive even after we depart our physical body. We keep glowing inifinitely.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

